Upper Missouri Water Association

The Upper Missouri Water Association is a non-profit regional water organization including the states of Montana, North Dakota, South Dakota, and Wyoming. The mission of the Upper Missouri Water Association (UMWA) is to protect, develop, and manage Upper Missouri water.

By working together through the UMWA, water interests can become stronger and more effective. Instead of four separate states, each with a Congressman and two Senators, we are a region with four Congressmen and eight Senators. Through unity we can accomplish our regional goals.

Members of the Upper Missouri Water Association include all types of large and small businesses, individuals, farmers, ranchers, irrigators, engineers, contractors, companies, rural electric and other cooperatives, irrigation districts, rural water systems, cities, and other organizations who are concerned about Upper Missouri water.


The Upper Missouri Water Association has nine priority goals:
  • Communication and education of projects, issues and programs in Upper Basin states.
  • Coordination and consensus among water, power, tribal and related resource interests of the Upper Missouri.
  • Complete water development projects in Upper Basin states.
  • Support Pick-Sloan ultimate development and the Pick-Sloan Missouri Basin Program.
  • Achieve Missouri River operation and management beneficial to upstream states.
  • Achieve solutions to Missouri River bank erosion and silt formation impacts and other water quality issues in the four states.
  • Support Missouri River recovery programs such as:
    • Missouri River Recovery Implementation Committee
    • Missouri River Ecosystem Restoration Plan
    • Missouri River Authorized Purposes Study
  • Preserve and support state water associations.
  • Work towards solving potential conflicts involving mutual river basins.

2021 Board of Directors

Darrell Raschke, Huron, South Dakota

Vice President
Jeff Cowley, Cheyenne, Wyoming

Past President 
Norman Haak, Oakes, North Dakota


John Crowley, Corvallis, Montana
Ann Kulczyk, Glasgow, Montana
James Brower, Sidney, Montana
Mike Murphy, Helena, Montana

North Dakota
Duane DeKrey, Carrington, North Dakota
Mary Massad, Dickinson, North Dakota
Dennis Reep, Bismarck, North Dakota
Ken Royse, Bismarck, North Dakota

South Dakota
John Heisler, Newell, South Dakota
Troy Larson, Tea, South Dakota
Darrell Raschke, Huron, South Dakota

Trent Reed, Powell, Wyoming
Radona Williams, Powell, Wyoming
Jeff Cowley, Cheyenne, Wyoming


Federal Representative
Sandra Hughson, Billings, Montana

State Water Agencies
Andrea Travnicek, Director, Bismarck, North Dakota
Eric Gronlund, Chief Engineer, Pierre, South Dakota
Amanda Kaster, Director, Helena, Montana
Greg Lanning, State Engineer, Cheyenne, Wyoming

Bureau of Reclamation
Joseph Hall, Area Manager, Bismarck, North Dakota
Ryan Newman, Area Manager, Billings, Montana
Carlie Ronca, Area Manager, Mills, Wyoming

Communications and Staff


The association sends out a Monthly Briefing on federal legislation, regulatory actions, and other issues concerning water.

E-mail alerts are provided periodically on the latest federal issues impacting the upper Missouri and western states.

Jack Dwyer, executive director
Dani Hanson, communications & government affairs
John Suter, assistant communications & government affairs
Julie Ellingson, events director

%d bloggers like this:
search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close